Many Nigerians don’t know where the Presidents of this country were living before the Federal capital was relocated to Abuja.

Even though quite a number of Nigerians know that the former Federal capital before Abuja was Lagos, many are still with the erroneous thought that the former seat of government was in Ikeja, the Lagos State capital.

The truth is that our past leaders lived in Marina, around the Onikan-Obalende axis of Lagos Island.

The former Presidential lodge known as the State House Marina was built in 1896 by the then British Colonial administration. It was first formally occupied by Lord Lugard as the official residence, office of the Governor-General of Nigeria in 1914.

It remained the official residence of Nigerian leaders till 1966 when General Yakubu Gowon moved the State House to the Dodan Barrack after the counter- that less to the death of Major General Aguiyi Ironsi, Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe was the first indigenous Nigerian leader to TAP HERE And Continue Reading For More Details????????????????????????

Tap Here For More Details

Don’t forget to share

Do you find Mjblog useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!